SUSTAINABILITY SCIENCE AWARD



The Sustainability Science Award is given to the authors of work published in the past five years that makes the greatest contribution to the emerging science of ecosystem and regional sustainability through the integration of ecological and social sciences.

This year's award goes to Pamela Matson and the contributors to the book she edited, Walter Falcon, Ashley Dean, Rosamond Naylor, Ivan Ortiz-Monasterio, David Lobell, John Harrison, Toby Ahrens, Mike Beman, Lee Addams, Gerrit Schoups, Jose Luis Minjares, Ellen McCullough, David Battisti, and Peter Jewett. The book is *Seeds of Sustainability: Lessons from the Birthplace of the Green Revolution* (2011, Island Press).

Seeds of Sustainability tackles a central challenge of sustainable development: agricultural modernization. It is cutting edge not because the issue itself is new, but because of the level of integration the authors attempted and the innovative process they used. The volume summarizes the findings and reflects on the process of a highly interdisciplinary team of researchers, integrating perspectives from biogeochemistry, atmospheric sciences,

land-use change, institutions, agronomy, economics, and knowledge systems. The foundation of the work is rigorous, grounding its findings in multiple peer-reviewed publications, while not hesitating to point out gaps or unresolved issues. *Seeds of Sustainability* includes an in-depth historical analysis, which captures issues of path dependence. It demonstrates both originality and critical reflectiveness in its efforts to engage practitioners in the conceptualization and execution of its research, and the implementation of its findings. And almost uniquely in our collective experience, it speaks seriously, frankly, and insightfully to the challenges of institutionalizing the sort of work it reports on.