F. I. Woodward

The William S. Cooper Award is presented by the Society in recognition of an outstanding recent publication in geobotany, physiographic ecology, ecological succession, or the distribution of organisms along environmental gradients. These were the areas of greatest interest to Professor Cooper during his long and productive career.

Dr. F. I. (lan) Woodward is the recipient of the 1991 William S. Cooper Award. The award recognizes Dr. Woodward's 1987 book, "Climate and Plant Distribution," published by Cambridge University Press. This book was published while Dr. Woodward was on the faculty of Cambridge University, a position which he has recently resigned to accept a chair as Professor of Plant Ecology at The University of Sheffield.

Predictive, mechanistically based biogeography has been elusive, particularly at large spatial scales. With this book, Dr. Woodward has brought new approaches to large-scale biogeography and physiographic ecology by applying perspectives from energy balance studies and plant physiology. Synthesizing and building from a broad literature including his own diverse work, Woodward has constructed a predictive model of biome physiognomy and leaf area index. An indication of the potential importance of Woodward's book is that it is currently being considered by vegetation scientists around the world as offering a workable approach to global-scale vegetation modeling that is accurate and robust beyond current boundary conditions. This book is par-



ticularly timely because of the emerging needs for accurate, predictive models of the possible impacts of global climatic change.

The substance of Dr. Woodward's book, "Climate and Plant Distribution," is clearly in the tradition of the Cooper Award, as well as being a logical extension of Cooper's own interest in the connections between climate and vegetation. This modest book appears likely to be uniquely important in forging linkages between physiological ecology and large-scale biogeography.

Selection Committee:

Robert K. Peet, Chair Julie S. Denslow Deborah E. Goldberg Eville Gorham Paul A. Harcombe Ronald P. Neilson Wayne P. Sousa

243