The William S. Cooper Award is a recognition by the Society of distinguished research in geobotany and physiographic ecology. The award has two objectives, first to honor the author of a paper in geobotany or physiographic ecology published in the past five years in any journal, and second, to encourage students to pursue work on these subjects. In making The Cooper Award, the committee has agreed that geobotany and physiographic ecology shall include studies of the interaction of earth processes, surface forms, and physical disturbance events or processes that structure or control the nature of biotic assemblages.

Dr. Edward A. Johnson of the University of Calgary is the recipient of the William S. Cooper Award for 1986. The award recognizes the research presented in a paper titled Vegetation Organization and Dynamics of Lichen Woodland Communities in the Northwest Territories, Canada, appearing in Ecology 62, 1981. The study is a classic analysis of the interaction of physiographic features and fire in controlling the dynamics of vegetation in this unique high latitude region. It was drawn in substantial part from Dr. Johnson's Ph.D. thesis at the University of Saskatchewan.

Written by Orie L. Loucks Selection Committee: Orie L. Loucks, Chair Edward J. Cushing James Fralish William Reiners Emily Russell Peter White Paul Zedler

Edward A. Johnson