## MURRAY F BUFUL AWARD

Lisa J. Petit

Murray F. Buell ascribed great importance to the participation of students at meetings and to excellence in the presentation of papers. To honor his dedication to the Ecological Society of America and to the younger generation of ecologists this award is presented to a student for the outstanding oral paper presented at the Society's annual meeting.

The 1991 winner of the award is Lisa J. Petit for her paper "Habitat selection by Prothonotary Warblers: A test of the Fretwell-Lucas models." Lisa received her bachelor's degree from Ohio State University and her master's degree from Bowling Green State University, Ohio. She completed her doctorate in May 1991 from the Department of Biological Sci-

241

ences at the University of Arkansas, where her advisor was Dr. Kimberly G. Smith. She is now a post-doc working under an EPA grant to the Arkansas Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit in Fayetteville.

Receiving honorable mention citations are Erik P. Hamerlynck of the University of Wyoming for his paper "Photosynthetic response of glacier lily (*Erythonium grandiflorum*) to snowbank emergence: nonstomatal and stomatal limitations," and Nancy Collins Johnson of the University of Minnesota for her paper "Do co-adapted mycorrhiza—soil complexes exist?"

1991 Student Awards Selection Committee:
Nancy M. Eyster-Smith, Chair
Thomas W. Boutton
Deborah Childs Hayes
Janet Lanza
John D. Madsen
Samuel M. Scheiner



Source: Bulletin of the Ecological Society of America, Vol. 72, No. 4 (Dec., 1991), pp. 241-242, Courtesy of JSTOR