BUELL AWARD

Kate Lajtha

Kate Lajtha of Duke University was the 1986 recipient of the Murray F. Buell Award for Excellence in Ecology. Murray Buell ascribed great importance to the participation of students at meetings and to excellence in the presentation of papers. To honor Murray Buell's dedication to the Ecological

Society of America, and to the younger generation of ecologists, this award is presented to a student (undergraduate, graduate, or recent doctorate) for the outstanding paper presented at the Society's annual meeting. The title of Kate Lajtha's paper at the 71st Annual Meeting in Syracuse was "Biogeo-

32

chemistry of phosphorus cycling along a calcareous desert soil chronosequence." Dr. Lajtha is currently pursuing postdoctoral research at The Ohio State University.

Receiving honorable mention citations were Colleen K. Kelly of the University of Arizona for her paper "Host specialization and foraging in the parasitic plant *Cuscuta subinclusa* (Cuscutaceae)," Christopher F. Sacchi of Northern Arizona University for his paper "Experimental tests of impact by a stem-gallforming herbivore, *Euura lasiolepsis*, on the arroyo willow, *Salix lasiolepsis*," and Sharon Y. Strauss of Florida State University for her paper "Interactions between three species of herbivores that feed on smooth sumac (*Rhus glabra*; Anacardiaceae)."

Written by Frank T. Kuserk Selection Committee: Frank Kuserk, Chair Joy Belsky Dean Cocking Janet Lanza Svaťa Louda Steve Palumbi Cynthia Paszkowski

